Robert I: Translation
14 March 1320 14 March 1320
14 March 1320
14 March 1320 Non-parliamentary record: charter of Philip Lindsay of Staplegordon to Sir James lord of Douglas, made in council
[A1320/3/1]* Non-parliamentary record: charter …
6 April 1320 1320, 6 April, ‘Arbroath’
1320, 6 April, ‘Arbroath’
6 April 1320 Record of Assembly
Record of Assembly
6 April 1320 6 April 1320
6 April 1320
6 April 1320 Letters: ‘The Declaration of Arbroath’; letter of the barons of Scotland to Pope John XXII
[1320/4/1]* Letters: ‘The Declaration of Arbroath’; …
August 1320 1320, Early August, Scone, Parliament
1320, Early August, Scone, Parliament
August 1320 Additional Record
Additional Record
  1. NLS, Morton Chartulary, Ms 72, f.64v. This charter does not mention a council at this time, but a subsequent grant of Staplegordon by the king to James lord Douglas on 6 May 1320 states this resignation was made by James de Lindsay ‘in pleno consilio nostro apud Neubotill coram regni nostri nobilibus’ (RRS, v, no. 166). Back
  2. This edition of the Declaration of Arbroath reproduces unaltered Sir James Fergusson's exhaustive collation of MSS in The Declaration of Arbroath (Edinburgh, 1970). No attempt has been made to revise this edition, except in altering punctuation and capitalisation to comply with the editorial practices of this volume. The translation is a reproduction of A. A. M. Duncan's version printed in The Nation of the Scots and the Declaration of Arbroath (1320) (London, 1970), reproduced with permission. Details on seals, tags and diplomatic are based on Duncan, 'The Making of the Declaration of Arbroath', in D. A. Bullough and R. L. Storey, The Study of Medieval Records (Oxford, 1971), 174-88. While this edition is not based on a new analysis of the MSS, it aims to make available in one place the key findings of these three indispensable works.At least three versions of the Declaration of Arbroath were made in 1320. One, sent to the pope, is lost. The second, a draft, has also been lost, but its text survives in the transcript [Sc] made by Walter Bower for his Scotichronicon in the 1440s. The third [Tyn], a sealed file copy, survives in original as the Tyninghame MS held at NAS. Comparison of Sc and Tyn show that some corrections and improvements in phraseology were made by the author of Tyn, but that he also introduced new errors. (For further details see Fergusson, Declaration, 20-1, Duncan, 'Making', 180-2.)Collation of Tyn and Sc enables a recreation, as far as is possible, of the text probably sent to Rome. This task is aided by the extensive use of ars dictaminis in the Declaration (for an explanation of which see Fergusson, Declaration, 34-6). In instances where Sc preserves the correct rhythm of a cursus, 'spoiled' by changes in phraseology or word order in Tyn, the rendering in Sc is preferred.The Collated MSS and Previous EditionsTyn = NAS SP13/7 (1320). MS copy formerly at Tyninghame, and the main text used in Fergusson's edition. Tyn has been damaged since the 18th century, but James Anderson's facsimile in Diplomata Scotie provides an image of the MS before it was harmed. Another engraving is found in APS, i, 474-5, and National Manuscripts of Scotland (1867-71), ii, no. xxiv.Sc = Scotichronicon MSS generally. Referred to individually as: ScE, Edinburgh University Library MS 186; ScC, Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, MS 171; ScR, British Library Royal MS, 13 EX; ScB, MS formerly at Brechin castle, now NAS GD45/26/48; ScL, NLS MS Adv. 35.1.7. For further details of these MSS see Bower, Scotichronicon, ed. Watt, i.PrintsB = Gilbert Burnet, History of the Reformation (1683).R = Sir George Mackenzie of Rosehaugh generally; R1, Observations on Precedency (1680); R2, Causae Forenses in Works, i (1716); Rc, Observations reprinted in Works, ii (1722).A = James Anderson generally; A1, Historical Essay (1705); A2, Diplomata, transcript from facsimile, 1739.G = Walter Goodall in his edition of Scotichronicon (1759).T = Thomas Thomson in Acts of the Parliaments of Scotland (1844).N = Cosmo Innes in National Manuscripts of Scotland (1870).M = R. L. Mackie in Scots Magazine, (April, 1934).C = Lord Cooper in Supra Crepidam (1951)Fergusson = Sir James Fergusson in The Declaration of Arbroath (Edinburgh, 1970). Back