Procedure: opening of parliament

In the parliament continued from 29 December last to 11 July instant, with continuation of days, [...] now held at Edinburgh on 12 July of the above year, by the magnificent prince James [Stewart], earl of Moray, lord Abernethy, etc., regent of Scotland, and the commissioners written below, namely James [Douglas], earl of Morton, chancellor, Alexander [Cunningham], earl of Glencairn, John [Lyon], lord Glamis, Robert [Sempill], lord Sempill, the reverend father in Christ Adam [Bothwell], bishop of Orkney, the venerable father in Christ John [Maitland of Thirlestane], commendator of Coldingham, William Maitland of Lethington, junior, secretary, Master James MacGill of [Nether] Rankeilour, etc., Robert [Richardson], commendator of St Mary's Isle, treasurer.

By commission of the supreme lord the king, with consent of his regent, specially appointed thereto, as is more fully contained in the said commission under the great seal.


  1. NAS, PA2/11, p.47.
  2. A large space has been left between this entry and the next.