Procedure: opening of parliament

The parliament of the most excellent prince James VI, by the grace of God, king of Scots, held and begun at Edinburgh on 15 December 1567 by the magnificent prince James [Stewart], earl of Moray, lord Abernethy, etc., regent of the kingdom of Scotland, and by the lords commissioners written below, namely: Adam [Bothwell], bishop of Orkney, James [Douglas], earl of Morton, lord of Dalkeith, chancellor, John [Stewart], earl of Atholl, lord Balvenie, Alexander [Cunningham], earl of Glencairn, lord Kilmaurs, John [Erskine], earl of Mar, lord Erskine, Robert [Sempill], lord Sempill, Patrick [Lindsay], lord Lindsay of the Byres, Robert [Pitcairn], commendator of Dunfermline, Master James MacGill of Nether Rankeilour, clerk of the rolls, of the register and of council, appointed by special commission of our supreme lord the king, with William Henderson for George [Hay], earl of Erroll, constable, Robert Keith of Cantray, for William [Keith], earl Marischal, marischal, Sir Alexander Hepburn of Whitsome, for the sheriff of Edinburgh, and Andrew Lindsay, dempster. The suits called and the court fenced.

  1. PRO, SP52/14, f.227.