In the parliament of the most excellent prince and our lord, the lord James V, by the grace of God, king of Scots, held at Edinburgh on 4 December 1540 by the lords commissioners written below.

  • For the clergy:
  • [David Beaton], cardinal [and archbishop of St Andrews]
  • [Gavin Dunbar, archbishop of Glasgow], chancellor
  • [William Stewart], bishop of Aberdeen
  • [Alexander Milne], abbot of Cambuskenneth
  • [Robert Reid], abbot of Kinloss
  • [George Dury], abbot of Dunfermline
  • For the barons:
  • [George Gordon], earl of Huntly
  • [James Hamilton, earl of] Arran
  • [Archibald Campbell, earl of] Argyll
  • [William Graham, earl of] Montrose
  • [John Erskine], lord Erskine
  • [Walter Lindsay, lord] St John
  • [William Ruthven, lord] Ruthven
  • [James Foulis of Colinton], clerk register
  • [Thomas Scott of Pitgorno], justice clerk
  • For the burgh commissioners:
  • [Simon Preston], provost of Edinburgh
  • [Oliver Maxton], provost of Perth
  1. NAS, PA2/8, III, f.26v.