Procedure: preamble

The court of the running parliament of the most excellent and dread prince and our lord, the lord James V, most illustrious king of Scots, held in the tolbooth of the burgh of Edinburgh on 18 July 1539 by the lords commissioners written below, namely the reverend father in Christ Henry [Wemyss], bishop of Galloway, the noble and powerful lords James [Stewart], earl of Moray, justiciar of our supreme lord the king appointed by the his majesty speaking aloud, James [Hamilton], earl of Arran, George [Leslie], earl of Rothes, Gilbert [Kennedy], earl of Cassilis, Walter [Lindsay], lord St John, Robert [Maxwell], lord Maxwell, the venerable fathers in Christ Alexander [Milne], abbot of Cambuskenneth, Robert [Reid], abbot of Kinloss, James [Haswell], abbot of Newbattle, Master James Foulis of Colinton, clerk of the rolls, register and council, Thomas Scott of Pitgorno, justice clerk, Master Thomas Bellenden [of Auchnoull], director of the chancellery, and Master Henry Balnaves [of Halhill], specially appointed by a commission of our supreme lord the king, with William [Keith], earl Marischal, William [Hay, earl] of Erroll, the constable, Alexander Hepburn of Whitsome, sheriff deputy of Edinburgh, John Dalmahoy, sergeant, and John Anderson, dempster.

  1. NAS, PA2/8, II, f.29r; NAS, PA2/8, III, f.22v.