Procedure: preamble

The court of parliament of our supreme lord the king, held at Edinburgh on 3 February 1538 [1539] by the lords commissioners written below, namely Walter [Lindsay], lord St John, Alexander [Milne], abbot of Cambuskenneth, Master James Foulis of Colinton, clerk register, Thomas Scott of Pitgorno, justice clerk, Master Henry Sinclair, Master Thomas Bellenden [of Auchnoull], director of the chancellery, and Master Henry Balnaves [of Halhill], appointed by special commission of our said supreme lord the king, with William Borthwick, deputy of [William Keith, earl Marischal], marischal, Patrick Baron [of Spittalfield], deputy of [William Hay, earl of Erroll], constable, Andrew Dalmahoy, sergeant, and John Anderson, dempster. [On the which day the suits [were] called [and] the court fenced].2

  1. NAS, PA2/8, II, f.28v; NAS, PA2/8, III, f.22r.
  2. 'On the which day the suits [were] called [and] the court fenced' in PA2/8, III version only.