Procedure: preamble and sederunt

Parliament of the most excellent prince and lord, our lord James V, by the grace of God most illustrious king of Scots, held and begun at Edinburgh on 28 July 1533, by the lords commissioners written below, namely the most reverend father in Christ Gavin [Dunbar, younger], archbishop of Glasgow, chancellor, William [Stewart], bishop of Aberdeen, the venerable fathers in Christ Alexander [Milne], abbot of Cambuskenneth, Robert [Cairncross], abbot of Holyrood, Robert [Reid], abbot of Kinloss, the noble and powerful lords Archibald [Campbell], earl of Argyll, George [Gordon], earl of Huntly, William [Graham], earl of Montrose, Walter [Lindsay], lord St John, Thomas Erskine of Brechin [and Halton], Sir James Colville of Easter Wemyss, director of the chancellery, Sir John Campbell of Lundie, Master James Foulis [of Colinton], clerk register,2 Richard Bothwell, parson of Ashkirk, Adam Otterburn of Auldhame [and Reidhall], lord advocate, Nicholas Crawford of Oxgangs, justice clerk, Master James Lawson, provost of Edinburgh, and Thomas Scott of Pitgorno, commissioners appointed by special commission of our said supreme lord, along with Gilbert Wauchope of Niddrie-Marischal, deputy of [William Keith], earl Marischal, Patrick Baron [of Spittalfield], deputy of [William Hay, earl of Erroll], constable, Andrew Dalmahoy, sergeant, and John Anderson, dempster. On the which day the suits [were] called, the court fenced, and the absentees noted.

  1. NAS, PA2/8, II, f.5r, with f.4v left blank. This parliament is not included in the PA2/8, III, version.
  2. 'rectorem', deleted.