Committee Members: committee for the propositions of peace
Committee for the propositions of peace

The estates nominate [Archibald Campbell], marquis of Argyll, the earls [William Keith, earl] Marischal, [John Erskine, earl of] Mar, [William Douglas, earl of] Morton, [William Cunningham, earl of] Glencairn, [John Drummond, earl of] Perth, [Charles Seton, earl of] Dunfermline, [Robert Ker, earl of] Roxburghe, [William Hamilton, earl of] Lanark, [James Livingstone, earl of] Callander, the lords [John Elphinstone, lord] Balmerino and [Robert Balfour, lord Balfour of] Burleigh for the noblemen, the lairds [Sir Alexander Falconer of] Halkerton, [Sir Archibald Johnston of] Wariston, [James MacDowall of] Garthland, [Sir Alexander Belsches of] Tofts, [Sir Thomas Nicolson of] Carnock, [Mr Francis Hay of] Balhousie, [Mr William Cochrane of] Cowdoun, [Sir Charles Erskine of Alva, Bandeath and] Cambuskenneth, [Sir Patrick Hamilton of] Little Preston, [Sir William Forbes of] Craigievar, [Sir John Shaw of] Greenock and [Sir Alexander Carnegie of] Pittarrow for the barons, Sir John Smith [of Grotehill], the commissioners [Robert Arnott for] Perth, [Thomas Haliburton for] Dundee, [Patrick Leslie of Iden for] Aberdeen, [George Bell for] Linlithgow, [John Lepar for] St Andrews, [James Bell for] Glasgow, [George Jamieson for] Cupar, [Robert Beattie for] Montrose, [John Johnston for] Dumfries, [John Semple of Stainflett for] Dumbarton and [Mr Alexander Douglas of Downies for] Banff for the burghs (or any 15 of them, there being four of every estate) to be a committee, to whom or their quorum the estates give power and warrant to consider upon the articles of the propositions of peace, and to report to the parliament.

  1. NAS. PA2/23, f.7v.