Non-parliamentary record: account of homage and fealty given in parliament

And so, after the aforesaid coronation and anointing had been celebrated duly, amicably and solemnly in all ways, as was proper, the next day, with the king sitting on the royal throne upon the hill of Scone, as is the custom, the prelates, earls and barons and nobles written below assembled and compeared in his presence: namely, the lord William de Landels, bishop of St Andrews, the lord Walter de Wardlaw, bishop of Glasgow, the lord Alexander de Kininmont, bishop of Aberdeen, the lord Alexander Bur, bishop of Moray, the lord Patrick de Leuchers, bishop of Brechin, the lord Walter de Coventry, bishop of Dunblane, the lord Stephen Pay, prior of St Andrews, [John de Strathmiglo] abbot of Dunfermline, [John] abbot of Arbroath, [John] abbot of the monastery of Holyrood of Edinburgh, [Roger] abbot of Lindores and the abbot2 of Scone; Sir John Stewart, the king's firstborn, earl of Carrick and steward of Scotland, Sir David Stewart, younger son of the king, earl of Strathearn, Sir Thomas earl of Mar, Sir William earl of Douglas, Sir Robert Stewart, the king's son, earl of Menteith, Sir Alexander Stewart, the king's son, barons; and the nobles, namely, [Walter de Faslane] lord of Lennox, Thomas de Hay, constable of Scotland, Sir William de Keith, marischal of Scotland, Sir Archibald de Douglas, Sir Robert de Erskine, Sir Alexander de Lindsay, Sir David de Graham, Sir Walter de Haliburton, knights, Sir John de Carrick, chancellor, and Sir Walter de Biggar, chamberlain of Scotland, also William de Cunningham, James de Douglas, James Fraser, Alexander Fraser, William de Dishington, David Watson, David de Annan, Roger de Mortimer, Robert de Ramsay, Alan Stewart, Duncan Wallace, Robert Stewart, George de Abernethy, David Fleming, Nicholas de Erskine, John de Lyle, Simon de Preston, John de Maxwell, John de Strachan, Robert de Dalziel and Walter de Ogilvy, John de Tours, Sir Alexander Stewart, and Andrew Campbell, knights,3 the lord of Seton, John Kennedy and Gillespic Campbell, William de Fenton, John de Sinclair, John de Crawford, Alexander de Straton, Alexander Scrimgeour, John de Crichton, Patrick Gray, John de Menzies, Robert de Normanville, John, lord of Livingston, John de Cragie, Hugh Fraser, Alexander de Strachan, and Donald MacNair. All of whom individually made homage and oaths of fealty to our said lord the king apart from the lord Bishop of Dunblane and Sir Archibald de Douglas, who had nevertheless performed oaths of fealty.

  1. NAS, Liber Niger, PA5/4, f. 58r-v. Acts 1371/1 to 1371/3 were copied from a lost register of acts of 'permanent' importance. 1371/3 refers to 'another register' of ordinances and deeds which were not permanent. The 'permanent' register will have included acts of parliament and also other proceedings, such as the coronation.
  2. Probably Abbot William, who occurs on 1 March 1370 (HRHS, 200).
  3. It is not clear here if 'milites' refers to all those named after William de Cunningham, or just Sir Alexander Stewart (who alone is designated 'dominus', translated as 'Sir' when placed before a name) and Andrew Campbell.