Procedure: preamble

The running parliament held at Edinburgh on 5 May 1592 by the lords commissioners of the said supreme lord the king, appointed by his commission, namely Adam [Bothwell], bishop of Orkney, Alexander [Colville], commendator of Culross, Edward [Bruce], commendator of Kinloss, John [Erskine], earl of Mar, John [Maitland], lord Thirlestane, chancellor, Sir Robert Melville of Murdocairnie, treasurer, Walter [Stewart], commendator of Blantyre, keeper of the privy seal, Master Richard Cockburn, heir apparent of Clerkington, secretary, Sir John Cockburn of Ormiston, justice clerk, Alexander Hay of Easter Kennet, clerk of the rolls, register and council, William Little, provost of Edinburgh, Nicolas Cornwall of Bonhard, provost of Linlithgow, with James [...], marischal depute, James Kinross, constable depute, Master James Foulis, depute of the sheriff of Edinburgh, and James Nisbet, dempster.

  1. NAS, PA2/14, f.2r.