Procedure: preamble

The parliament of the most excellent prince James VI, king of Scots, opened in Edinburgh on 24 July in the year of the Lord 1587 by the lords commissioners named below and specially constituted, namely Peter [Rollock], bishop of Dunkeld, Alexander [Seton], commendator of Pluscarden, Alexander [Colville], commendator of Culross, Mark [Kerr], commendator of Newbattle, and Alexander Hay of Easter Kennet, clerk of the rolls of register and council of our supreme lord the king, together with William Henderson, constable depute, Robert Cathcart, sheriff depute of Edinburgh, and David Graham, marischal depute.

  1. NAS, PA2/13, f.79v.