Committee members: lords of the articles

Immediately thereafter, in presence of the king's majesty, these lords underwritten were chosen upon the articles:2

  • For the clergy
  • [Patrick Adamson], archbishop of St Andrews
    • Bishops
    • [Peter Rollock, bishop of] Dunkeld
    • [Adam Bothwell, bishop of] Orkney
    • [Patrick Gray, master of Gray, commendator of] Dunfermline
    • [Mark Kerr, commendator of] Newbattle
    • [James Drummond, commendator of] Inchaffray
    • [Alexander Seton, commendator of] Pluscarden
    • [Alexander Colville, commendator of] Culross
  • For the barons
  • [George Gordon, earl of] Huntly
  • [John Stewart, earl of] Atholl
  • [Francis Hay, earl of] Erroll
  • [Lawrence Oliphant, lord] Oliphant
  • [Robert Seton, lord] Seton
  • [Henry Sinclair, lord] Sinclair
  • [William Maxwell, lord] Herries
  • [Alan Cathcart, lord] Cathcart
  • For the burgh commissioners
  • Nicholas Uddard }
  • Michael Gilbert } for Edinburgh
  • Alexander Wedderburn [of Kingennie] for Dundee
  • Anthony Bruce for Stirling
  • Alexander Rutherford [of Rubislaw] for Aberdeen
  • Robert Rowat for Glasgow
  • James Cockburn for Haddington
  • [Sir] David Lindsay [of the Mount] for Cupar
  1. NAS, PA2/13, f.34v.
  2. CSP Sco., viii, 161 gives an incomplete but slightly different list of the lords of the articles for this session.