The king present.

  • For the clergy
  • [Patrick Adamson, archbishop of] St Andrews
  • [Robert Montgomery, archbishop of] Glasgow
  • [Robert Crichton, bishop of] Dunkeld
  • [David Cunningham, bishop of] Aberdeen
  • [Alexander Campbell, bishop of] Brechin
    • Abbots
    • [Patrick Leslie of Pitcairlie, commendator of] Lindores
    • [Henry Kinnear, commendator of] Balmerino
    • [William Stewart, commendator of] Pittenweem
    • [Robert Keith, commendator of] Deer
    • [Walter Stewart, commendator of] Blantyre
    • [Gilbert Brown, abbot of] New Abbey2
    • [Laurence Gordon, commendator of] Glenluce
    • [John Johnston, commendator of] Soulseat
    • [Thomas Ross, commendator of] Fearn
  • For the barons
  • [James Stewart, earl of] Arran, chancellor
  • [George Gordon, earl of] Huntly
  • [David Lindsay, earl of] Crawford
  • [John Graham, earl of] Montrose
  • [Andrew Leslie, earl of] Rothes
  • [John Maxwell, earl of] Morton
  • [Alexander Gordon, earl of] Sutherland
  • [George Sinclair, earl of] Caithness
  • [James Stewart, earl of] Moray
    • Lords
    • [James Stewart, lord] Innermeath
    • [John Fleming, lord] Fleming
    • [William Livingston, lord] Livingston
    • [Patrick Drummond, lord] Drummond
    • [Alexander Abernethy, lord] Saltoun
    • [William Maxwell, lord] Herries
    • [Henry Sinclair, lord] Sinclair
    • [Andrew Stewart, lord] Ochiltree
    • [James Stewart, lord] Doune
    • [Hugh Somerville, lord] Somerville
  • For the burgh commissioners
  • 3James Nicoll and William [Harvie] for Edinburgh
  • Dionysius Conqueror for Perth
  • William Duncan for Dund[ee]
  • Alexander Rutherford [of Rubislaw] for Aberdeen
  • Duncan Balfour for St And[rews]
  • John Forest [of Magdalen] for Linlithgow
  • George Elphinstone [of Blythswood] for Glasgow
  • John Carkettle for Haddington
  • Robert Cunningham for Dumfri[es]
  • John Graham of Callander for Auchter[arder]
  • William Spalding for F[orfar]4
  • Andrew Lauder for La[uder]
  • Patrick Dickson for [Peebles]
  • William Annan for [Crail]5
  • James Mason for Mo[ntrose]
  1. NAS, PA2/13, f.3r.
  2. Also known as Sweetheart Abbey.
  3. Gaps due to damage to manuscript at bottom right of page.
  4. ? Possibly the same William Spalding who was a councillor of Forfar in 1591. See Young, The Parliaments of Scotland, ii, 652.
  5. ? Possibly the same William Annan who was a burgess of Crail, which he represented at several conventions of burghs between 1575 and 1582. See Young, The Parliaments of Scotland, i, 20.