Parliamentary Register

20 October 1579

On the first day of parliament

Procedure: opening of parliament

The parliament of the most excellent prince James VI, king of Scots, held and begun at Edinburgh on 20 October in the year of the Lord 1579, through the lords commissioners specifically constituted, namely Colin [Campbell], earl of Argyll, lord of Campbell and Lorne, chancellor, Andrew [Hay], earl of Erroll, constable, Hugh [Montgomery], earl of Eglinton, lord Montgomery, John [Graham], earl of Montrose, lord Graham, the most reverend and venerable fathers in Christ Patrick [Adamson], archbishop of St Andrews, Adam [Bothwell], bishop of Orkney, Alexander [Campbell], bishop of Brechin, Robert [Pitcairn], commendator of Dunfermline, secretary, Robert [Keith], commendator of Deer, Alexander [Colville], commendator of Culross, and our beloved masters David Borthwick of Lochhill and Robert Crichton of Eliock as advocates, Alexander Clerk of Balbirnie, provost of Edinburgh, together with James Kinross, constable depute, Robert Keith of Canterland, marischal depute, Master Oliver Colt, depute sheriff of Edinburgh, and Andrew Lindsay, legal officer. All having been sworn in and put under oath, suits were called and the court confirmed.

  1. This section of the parliamentary register, NAS, PA2/12, f.16r, is preceded by: 'Ex libris etc. [From the books, etc.], Liber parliamenti [The book of parliament]'. This is followed by two blank folios, ff.16v and 17r-v. It is not clear to what the above folio relates and may simply be a test page for the scribe. Back
  2. NAS, PA2/12, f.18r. Back
  3. A slightly different version of this text can be found at NAS, PA2/12, appendix, f.3r. Patrick Adamson, archbishop of St Andrews is added to the margin of the appendix copy. Back