Procedure: preamble

The parliament of the most excellent prince James, by the grace of God, king of Great Britain, held in Edinburgh on 26 November in the year of the Lord 1605 by the most powerful lord John [Graham], earl of Montrose etc. and the commissioners named below, namely Alexander [Seton], earl of Dunfermline and chancellor, William [Douglas], earl of Angus, Mark [Kerr], lord Newbattle, John [Abernethy], lord Saltoun, James [Sandilands of Calder], lord of Torphichen, Peter [Rollock], bishop of Dunkeld, James [Law], bishop of Orkney, John [Bothwell], commendator of Holyroodhouse, Archibald Douglas, lord of Whittingehame, Sir John Touris of Inverleith, John Robertson and George Foulis [of Ravelston], commissioners for Edinburgh, Sir William Seton of Kylesmure, commissioner for the burgh of Haddington, and Sir Andrew Murray of Eddleston, commissioner of the sheriffdom of Peebles, together with Thomas Scott, marischal depute, Master William Stewart, depute sheriff of Edinburgh, John Fraser, constable depute, and Andrew White, dempster. Suits were called and the court affirmed.

  1. NAS, PA2/16, f.47r. Back