1594, 22 April, Edinburgh, Parliament

Parliamentary Register

22 April 1594

Procedure: opening of session

The parliament of the most excellent prince James VI, most illustrious king of Scots, held and opened in Edinburgh on 22 April in the year of the Lord 1594, by the commissioners of the said parliament as named below, namely Robert [Seton], lord Seton, Mark [Kerr], lord Newbattle, Master Thomas Lyon of Auldbar, treasurer, Lord Robert Melville of Murdocairnie, knight, treasurer depute, Lord Richard Cockburn, [heir] apparent of Clerkington, secretary, Sir John Cockburn of Ormiston, justice clerk, Master David MacGill of Cranstoun-Riddel, advocate, Alexander Hay of Easter Kennet, clerk register, Alexander Home of North Berwick, provost of Edinburgh, commissioners of parliament specially constituted by the commission of our supreme lord the king, together with James Mathieson, marischal depute, James Kinross for the constable, Master James Foulis, sheriff depute of Edinburgh, and James Nisbet, dempster. Suits were called and the court affirmed.

  1. NAS, PA2/15, f.27r. Back