Parliamentary Register

24 October 1581

On the first day of parliament

Procedure: opening of parliament

The parliament of the excellent prince James VI, king of Scots, held and opened in Edinburgh on 24 October in the year of the Lord 1581 through the lords commissioners as named below, namely James [Hamilton], earl of Arran, lord Hamilton etc., John [Graham], earl of Montrose, lord Graham, William [Ruthven], lord Ruthven, treasurer, Robert [Pitcairn], commendator of Dunfermline, Mark [Kerr], commendator of Newbattle, Alexander Clerk [of Balbirnie], provost of the burgh of Edinburgh, Alexander Hay [of Easter Kennet], clerk of the rolls of registry, and Master Robert Crichton of Eliock, king's advocate, specially constituted through the commission of our supreme lord the king issued under testimony of his great seal as is customary, together with William Henryson, constable depute, Robert Keith of Canterland, marischal depute, Lewis Thornton, depute sheriff of Edinburgh, and Andrew Lindsay, judge. When the suits called had been sworn and admitted in the presence of the said commissioners, the court was confirmed.

  1. NAS, PA2/12, f.54r. Back
  2. Another version of the following text can be found at PA2/12, appendix, f.19r. Back