7 June 1535

Procedure: preamble

The parliament of the most excellent prince James V, by the grace of God most serene king of Scots, held and begun at Edinburgh on 7 June 1535 by the lords commissioners written below, namely the most reverend father and the reverend fathers in Christ Gavin [Dunbar, younger], archbishop of Glasgow, chancellor, George [Crichton], bishop of Dunkeld, James [Hay], bishop of Ross, Robert [Maxwell], bishop of Orkney, the noble and powerful lords William [Keith], earl Marischal, William [Graham], earl of Montrose, the venerable fathers in Christ Robert [Cairncross], abbot of Holyrood, Alexander [Milne], abbot of Cambuskenneth, Robert [Reid], abbot of Kinloss, Walter [Lindsay], lord St John, Master Richard Bothwell, parson of Ashkirk, Master James Foulis of Colinton, clerk of the rolls, register and council of the supreme lord our king, Sir James Colville of Easter Wemyss, Master Adam Otterburn of Auldhame [and Reidhall], king's advocate, Nicholas Crawford of Oxgangs, justice clerk, and Master Francis Bothwell, commissioners appointed by special commission of our said supreme lord the king, with Patrick Baron [of Spittalfield], deputy of [William Hay, earl of Erroll], constable, Andrew Dalmahoy, sergeant, and John Anderson, dempster. On the which day the suits [were] called and the court fenced.

  1. NAS, PA2/8, II, f.11r. Copy also found in NAS, PA2/8, III, f.4r. Back