Parliamentary Register

7 May 1527

Procedure: preamble

The parliament of the most excellent prince James, by the grace of God most illustrious king of Scots, held and begun at Edinburgh on 7 May 1527 by the lords commissioners written below, namely Henry [Wemyss], bishop of Galloway, etc., Archibald Douglas [of Kilspindie], treasurer, and Master Adam Otterburn of Auldhame [and Reidhall], commissioners appointed by a special commission under the great seal produced there and read through, along with Patrick Baron, deputy of [William Hay], earl of Erroll, constable, and Andrew Dalmahoy, sergeant, and John Anderson, dempster. On the same day the same commissioners created Gilbert Wauchope of Niddrie-[Marischal] deputy of the lord [William Keith], earl Marischal, for ministering in the present parliament in the said office, and furthermore they caused him to be sworn thereto. On the which day, the suits called, the court fenced, etc.

  1. NAS, PA2/8, I, f.52r. Back