Committee Members: committee for the excise
Committee anent the excise

The convention of estates nominate and appoint the earls [William Cunningham, earl of] Glencairn, [John Kennedy, earl of] Cassilis, [John Maitland, earl of] Lauderdale, [John Hamilton, lord] Bargany, [John Carnegie, lord] Loure, [Sir Alexander Falconer of] Halkerton, [Sir Thomas Nicolson of] Carnock, [Thomas Crombie of] Kemnay, [Sir John Shaw of] Greenock, [Sir Michael Balfour of] Denmilne, the commissioners [Robert Fleming and Thomas Paterson for] Edinburgh, [Robert Davidson for] Dundee, [Patrick Leslie of Iden for] Aberdeen, [James Bell for] Glasgow and [George Bell for] Linlithgow (or any nine of them, there being two of each estate) and [John Campbell, earl of Loudoun], chancellor, to be supernumerary, to meet tomorrow at 8 o'clock and to consider the most just and equal way least prejudicial to the kingdom and most sure and beneficial to the armies in England and Ireland for procuring of credit, whereupon a present sum of money may be raised for a present supply of these armies and for their future relief in case of necessity, and that by way of excise or by any other better or more expedient way, and to report their opinion to the estates.

  1. NAS. PA8/1, f.124r. Back