Procedure: commission for the act of constitution
Commission anent the act of constitution

The estates give commission to [James Hamilton], marquis of Hamilton and [Archibald Campbell, marquis of] Argyll, the earls [William Douglas, earl of] Morton, [Robert Ker, earl of] Roxburghe, [John Maitland, earl of] Lauderdale, [David Carnegie, earl of] Southesk, [William Hamilton, earl of] Lanark, [James Livingstone, earl of] Callander, [John Elphinstone, lord] Balmerino, and for the barons, the lairds [Sir Thomas Hope of] Kerse, [Sir Archibald Johnston of] Wariston, [Sir Adam Hepburn of] Humbie, [Arthur Erskine of] Scotscraig, [Sir Patrick Hepburn of] Waughton, [Sir William Muir of] Rowallan, [Sir Duncan Campbell of] Auchinbreck, [Mr George Winram of] Liberton, [William Rigg of] Aithernie, and to the commissioners [Sir John Smith of Grotehill and James Dennistoun for] Edinburgh, [Robert Arnott for] Perth, [Thomas Bruce of Weltoun for] Stirling, [Patrick Leslie of Iden for] Aberdeen, [John Semple of Stainflett for] Dumbarton, [Mr Robert Barclay for] Irvine, [Robert Taylor for] St Andrews, [James Bell for] Glasgow and [Mr Alexander Douglas of Downies for] Banff, to meet together and consult and debate the conveniency or necessity of the constitution of this convention, and of the way of it.

  1. NAS. PA8/1, f.43v. Back