Procedure: continuation of parliament

The which day the said commissioners of this present parliament underwritten, namely: William [Graham], earl of Menteith, president of the privy council, Thomas [Hamilton], earl of Haddington, lord privy seal, George [Seton], earl of Winton, Alexander [Livingstone], earl of Linlithgow, Robert [Ker], earl of Roxburghe, Sir Archibald Acheson of Glencairnie, knight, his highness's secretary, Sir John Hamilton of Magdalens, knight, clerk register, and Sir Thomas Hope of Craighall, knight baronet, advocate to our sovereign lord, having caused fence the foresaid parliament and call the suits thereof as the day to the which the same was formerly continued, the said Sir Thomas Hope, his highness's advocate, produced his majesty's letter directed to the commissioners for continuation of the said parliament. Which letter being read,

The said commissioners, for obedience thereof, have continued and continue this present parliament in the same form, force and effect etc., with all summons, actions, causes and other matters belonging thereto until 1 April 1631, with continuation of days, to be held then at Edinburgh or where it shall happen his majesty and his highness's privy council to appoint by their letters by open proclamation for that effect; and ordain all the estates of parliament and others, his highness's lieges, then to attend thereupon under the pains contained in the acts of parliament of this realm. Upon the fencing of the which parliament and continuation thereof foresaid and whole premises above-written, the said Sir Thomas Hope [of Craighall], advocate to our sovereign lord, for his highness's interest, asked instruments.

  1. NAS, PA2/21, f.1v-2r. Back